A new Duke Nukem Forever trailer is out

For entries on the front page of the site

Moderator: Gamma

Michael
Vince Vaughn

A new Duke Nukem Forever trailer is out

Post by Michael » December 21st, 2007, 2:59 pm

The video is here... and there's a 720p version up on most of the big gaming sites.

http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=ZUN7mHUtzno

So... 10 years, and this is what we get. 1:10 minutes of footage. I mean, I wasn't expecting much. Really, I wasn't. And I know it's a teaser. But really, come on Georgey, pull your finger out.

I definitely feel underwhelmed by it. I don't mean to sound harsh. I make video games for a living, so I know what it's like to see criticisms of your game online from some complete stranger. So I don't mean to "hate". But it's just been so long. 10 years... you expect a lot from 10 years. Maybe you'll be living in a different country. Maybe you'll start a family. Maybe you'll SHIP A FUCKING VIDEO GAME.

I mean in 10 years, the entire Grand Theft Auto series was shipped in that time. In 10 years, the Beatles had formed, released all their albums, completed several world tours, and broken up. In 10 years, JFK had decided the yanks were going to the moon, the technology was developed, and they fucking well made it back too.

So I expect a little more than what we saw. There's barely any flashes of real gameplay in there... sure, it's probably all footage using the game engine, but what's there really isn't impressive given the current generation of consoles. But I'll forgive them for not showing any real slices of what it's like to PLAY the game, since it's just a teaser.

The graphics really didn't do much for me compared to some of the polished stuff that's been coming out lately. Duke in particular just looks a bit last generation. And on top of that, the brief flashes of characters and enviornments looked very uninteresting... like someone took the original Half Life and made it run with a slightly nicer engine.